My first Wedding Reception for 2010!!

Wow, it’s been awhile since my last blog! I have to catch up big time, lol.

I met with Deana and Floyd a couple of months ago to start planning their reception. They are a sweet couple and wanted a nice mixture of music for their guests that were from MS, LA, AL, TX, MA, and Canada.

Their families and friends were very responsive to my ‘warm up’ and looked forward to Deana and Floyd arriving at the Parish Hall at Our Lady of the Gulf in Bay St. Louis, MS.

The room was decorated with Chinese Lanterns and special highlights in decor and party favors where a cool Mardi Gras/Saints Theme. Being that the Saints are doing so well, this added even more excitement to the Grande Entrance.

The day was a bit on the wet side but never put a damper on the mood the entire night.

Deana and Floyd arrived at the entrance way of the hall. I had special help from Amanda Shapland from Imagine That. They were the decorator and also assisted me at the reception with timing and order of events.

Our special wedding couple entered to an awesome welcome from their guests and went directly into their first dance, “Everything” by Michael Buble. Floyd could not keep his eyes off of Deana. Deana and Floyd both just smiled the entire time and looked at each other like there was no one in the room.

Afterwards, I invited their family and friends to the buffet which was catered by Scott Simpson of Cajun Gourmet. He and his crew did a fabulous job and kept the guests full of delights. I felt like I was back at home in Baton Rouge. His restaurant is in Pass Christian and his number is 228.323-0579. I highly recommend his catering services.

After the buffet, Deana and Floyd enjoyed cutting their first cake as husband and wife while I played James Taylor, “How sweet it is” in the background. I noticed several guests watching them and singing along…..

Deana and Floyd enjoyed the meal too and, shortly thereafter, I presented their Love Story. It was such a pleasure preparing their script and I had their guests laughing and going “Awwwwww” throughout the entire presentation. It was priceless.

We opened the floor with some Elvis and even had a dance highlight of “You shook me all night long” with one of Deana’s friends, Stephen.

The photographer was John Bright. This was the first time I worked with John and, I must say, it was indeed a pleasure.

The night progressed with great songs of yesteryear with many requests from the audience too.

The reception ended with a special request from our couple to the tune of Elvis Costello called “She”. It was a great song with lyrics that summed up the feelings that Deana and Floyd share for one another.

I also created a cool slideshow of the pics I took throughout the night.

It was a pleasure working with two incredible people that I now call friends!

Congratulations Deana and Floyd Landry Jr!

